Prof. Ron Dreslinski inducted into MICRO Hall of Fame

This honor recognizes outstanding researchers with eight or more papers at the International Symposium on Microarchitecture.
Ron Dreslinski
Prof. Ron Dreslinski

Associate Professor and Miller Faculty Scholar Ron Dreslinski has been inducted into the IEEE/ACM MICRO Hall of Fame, an honor given to outstanding researchers with eight or more papers at the International Symposium on Microarchitecture. The symposium is organized by the Association for Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Microarchitecture, SIGMICRO, whose members include researchers and practitioners of computer architecture, microarchitecture and compilers.

MICRO is the flagship conference for microprocessor architecture and one of the top-tier computer architecture conferences. Technology presented at MICRO has been incorporated into modern microprocessors over the past fifty years.

Dresklinski is best known for his work with energy efficient processor architectures with a recent focus on eliminating bottlenecks in data movement, as well as new software/architecture co-design, CAD/EDA tools to democratize chip design, emerging technologies, and novel application areas. Determined to create impactful research that translates to industry practice, Dreslinski contributes to the open-source releases of projects like the GEM5 simulator and the Cadre Flow in addition to tools developed in partnership with DARPA.

Dreslinski was recently named Miller Faculty Scholar for his contributions to research within CSE and in industry. He has additionally been recognized with an EECS Outstanding Achievement Award, the IEEE TCCA Young Computer Architect Award, and the College of Engineering’s Kenneth M. Reese Outstanding Research Scientist Award. He was also named Morris Wellman Faculty Development Professor from 2018-2020.

Dreslinski joins at least a dozen current and former EECS faculty who have also been inducted into the MICRO Hall of Fame, including ECE faculty member and Kensall D. Wise Collegiate Professor David Blaauw, who made the list this year.