Parag Deotare voted 2017 HKN Professor of the Year for ECE

ECE students say Prof. Deotare is the best!

professor with his award from HKN Enlarge
Prof. Parag Deotare (L) is presented with the award by HKN Vice President Eli Sherman, Prof. and Chair Khali Najai, and Prof. Dave Neuhoff

Prof. Parag Deotare was named the 2016-2017 HKN Professor of the Year in ECE by the Beta-Epsilon chapter of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), the national honor society for electrical and computer engineers.

The Professor of the Year Award is awarded based on popular vote by all undergraduate and graduate students in programs administered by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Prof. Deotare was surprised to learn of this unique honor at the end of his final class for the semester, EECS 334: Principles of Optics.

Image Enlarge

His students were also thrilled to hear of the honor, and for a momentary break from their final presentations.

Prof. Deotare’s joined the faculty in Winter 2016. His Excitonics and Photonics Laboratory works to understand light-matter interactions in nanoscale systems, and to develop low energy photonic and excitonic devices for applications in data communication and life sciences. He earned an AFOSR Young Investigator Award in fall 2016 to support basic scientific research in Nanoscale Exciton-Mechanical Systems (NEXMS).

Previously, Prof. Deotare taught EECS 434: Principle of Photonics.